top of page
Search

The Softer Trail

Updated: Mar 1, 2023

In my former life I use to jump and run, take aerobics classes and play hard.

After burying four members of my family, I was shifting. My whole being was suddenly three years older. It was if I woke up underwater and had to swim my way back to air. I stopped

breathing properly ,was eating and sleeping randomly and had lost strength. Every one suggested I push myself. There is a city park across from my house. Its most available trails for me are asphalt under foot still, I made myself walk everyday. Then my Doctor diagnosed me with low bone density and

suggested prescription drugs to combat joint and bone inevitable deterioration .


I said no. There was a natural way to stay strong to gain better bones and muscles, I was sure.

I added calcium supplements when I set a regular

eating habit again . Other vitamins and minerals I got from food. Then I researched what was more gentle on the bones for exercise.


Everywhere I went, I saw asphalt as the base of my walk. I found out that grass, turf, even treadmills and a pool were better places to move on. I found an earth trail at the park and go there frequently . I grab a friend when our schedules permit and find the wild paths that don't rely on concrete, and walk there among trees, with soft breeze flowing down on us. I don't time myself or install a pedometer on my being. I go until I feel I had a good work out and stop if I am too tired or uncomfortable. I joined a gym under a senior membership and do a light swim

twice a week. Every day I take my yoga mat and do a mix of Yoga and Qi Gong and stretches' and dance that is energizing and refreshing .


I am on my fifth book ready to publish later this year and am finally being paid as a stand up comic. I am stronger, sleeping better, and enjoying all my new gentler routines. My legs have gotten very strong, my pain has diminished

and after adding a remarkable acupuncturist to my list of support services, I am reversing an old

tennis elbow and upper back complications. I never stop experimenting with foods or limiting my adventures, I am only more mindful that I can work out the softer trail along the way. There is a might to the gentle strength that builds day by day. I have learned that it is my time to day dream

and mosey , instead of rush. There is so much to be missed,

when we forget to dream.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page